krypted.com

Tiny Deathstars of Foulness

Apple Configurator has always been able to upgrade devices. But it can also now upgrade apps that are on devices. To run an upgrade, first open Apple Configurator 2. Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 8.14.35 AM Once open, right-click on a device and click on the Update… option. Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 8.27.11 AM You can update all assets on the device concurrently, using the default option. Here, we’re going to select to update only the items we need to in the drop-down menu. Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 8.29.52 AM Select Only Some Apps and then you’ll see a list of each app that needs an upgrade on the device. Check the box for the apps to be updated and then click on the Update button. Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 8.29.59 AM Apps are updated using an iTunes account. Here, you will need to authenticate using an account on the app store that owns these apps. Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 8.30.08 AM Once entered, Apple Configurator will cache the apps and install them on a device or devices. The apps are only downloaded once, and then applied to many devices. These function even if the app store is disabled on devices.  

November 12th, 2015

Posted In: Apple Configurator

Tags: , , , , , , ,

By default, OS X now updates apps that are distributed through the Mac App Store (MAS). OS X Server is really just the Server app, sitting on the App Store. If the Server app is upgraded automatically, you will potentially¬†experience some adverse side effects, especially if the app is running on a Metadata Controller for Xsan, runs Open Directory, or a major release of the Server app ships. Therefore, in this article we’re going to disable this otherwise sweet feature of OS X. To get started, first open the System Preferences. From there, click on the App Store System Preference pane. Screen Shot 2015-09-24 at 8.25.39 AM From the App Store System Preference pane, uncheck the following boxes:
  • Automatically Check For Updates: Unchecking this box disables the download in the background option and the installation of app updates.
  • Automatically Download Apps Purchased on Other Macs: If you buy an upgrade, you could accidentally install that upgrade on production servers you don’t intend to install the upgrade on.
Once disabled, you’ll need to keep on top of updates in the App Store manually. My recommendation is still to create an image of your server before each update.  

October 2nd, 2015

Posted In: Mac OS X, Mac OS X Server, Mac Security

Tags: , , , ,